Trick-Or-Treaters Over Age 12 to Get Jail Time
You read that headline correctly. Parts of the state of Virginia are threatening teens with a fine and jail time if they are caught trick-or-treating after 8:00pm on Halloween. According to an article, the fine can be anywhere between $25 and $100, and the jail term can be up to 30 days. 30 days in jail for trick-or-treating over the age of 12. Believe it or not, it's considered at Class 4 misdemeanor. To trick-or-treat. Over a certain age. The law also states that anyone accompanying little ghouls and goblins door-to-door can't wear a mask, or they might be "tempted to trick-or-treat." Doesn't this seem absurd? I fully understand not wanting to be disturbed at all hours of the evening, and a definite end-time to trick-or-treating should be observed, but jail time and a fine for a 13-year-old? Is this law going too far? Should there be an age restriction on trick-or-treating? Do you think a similar law should be considered for The Mitten?
Bonus Video: People from Illinois Explain Michigan Accents