The first two members of the 2019 class of The Baseball Hall Of Fame have been announced.  

According to the Chicago Sun Times, long time White Sox designated hitter, Harold Baines and former closer Lee Smith, (who is going in as a pitcher for the Cubs) have been elected to the Hall.

Their selections were made by the Veterans Committee for the Today's Game Era.   Both Smith and Banes were voted in ahead of names such as Albert Belle, Orel Hershiser, George Steinbrenner and Lou Pinella.

White Sox v Mariners X
Otto Greule/ALLSPORT/Getty Images

Baines played 14 of his 22 season in baseball with the White Sox and received 12 of 16 votes to be elected.

Smith started his career with the Cubs. He also pitched for the Cardinals among other teams.  He received votes from all the members of the committee.

Smith is currently number 3 on the all time saves list with 478.

Neither player received enough votes when they were eligible for the writers vote. According to the Hall Of Fame, They will both be inducted July 21st into the Hall Of Fame in Cooperstown, New York.

The baseball writers selections will be announced on January 22nd and those players will join Baines and Smith in the Hall.


More From 107.7 WRKR-FM