Wings Stadium has hosted many of rock's biggest bands. Peter Gabriel hit the Kalamazoo stage just as 'Shock the Monkey' was blowing up. 

Peter Gabriel's first four albums are titled Peter Gabriel. It was the tour for the 4th eponymous record (sometimes known as Security) that found him in Kalamazoo in November of 1982.

His breakthrough album So, the one with all the hits, came in 1986. His career was a slow burn as the former Genesis frontman had a hit with "Solsbury Hill" off his very first solo album (called Peter Gabriel), it hit #68 in 1977. Games without Frontiers from the 1980 Peter Gabriel album did a little better at #48 and he finally cracked the Top 40 charts in America when Shock the Monkey from the fourth self-titled LP climbed all the way to #29.

Gabriel's audience was building too and you can hear the enthusiastic fans on this live recording of his 1982 show at Wings Stadium. He opens the show with 2 new songs and would play 7 of the 8 tracks on the just-released 1982 album as nearly half of the 16-song concert was dedicated to new material. The Concert Database has the setlist for the night:

  1. The Rhythm of the Heat
  2. I Have the Touch
  3. Not One of Us
  4. The Family and the Fishing Net
  5. Shock the Monkey
  6. Family Snapshot
  7. Intruder
  8. I Go Swimming
  9. Lay Your Hands On Me
  10. Solsbury Hill
  11. I Don't Remember
  12. San Jacinto
  13. On the Air
  14. Kiss of Life
  15. Biko
  16. D.I.Y.

Remember, not everyone had a recording device in their pocket (thank God) in 1982, so there is no video of this performance, but the audio quality is excellent for a bootleg. Take a trip back to November 21 or 22 of 1982 and listen in on this classic concert at Wings.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app


MORE: Things We Took For Granted Before COVID-19


More From 107.7 WRKR-FM