Seventh-year head coach of Michigan football, Jim Harbaugh, was named the national coach of the year by the Associated Press on Friday.

Harbaugh (pictured above) led Michigan to their first Big Ten championship since 2004 (shared with Iowa) this season.  His Wolverines are 12-1 after defeating Ohio State 42-27 to win the Big Ten Eastern Division.  And then blew out Iowa 42-3 to win their first outright conference title since 2003.

107.7 WRKR-FM logo
Get our free mobile app

Jim got 22 first-place votes and 103 points over to beat out Cincinnati's Luke Fickell for the honor.  Dave Aranda of the Big 12 champion Baylor Bears finished third.

He's not the only Wolverine to receive a postseason honor this season.  Kicker Jake Moody was named as the winner of the Lou Groza Award, given to the nation's best kicker, while defensive end Aidan Hutchinson was named the winner of the Lombardi Award as the best interior lineman.  Hutchinson is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be awarded on Saturday night in New York City.

Offensive coordinator Josh Gattis won the Frank Broyles Award as the nation's top assistant coach.

Harbaugh's Wolverines will face Georgia in the Orange Bowl in Miami on New Year's Eve night in the semifinals of the College Football Playoff.  If Michigan wins that, they'll play either Alabama or Cincinnati for the national championship on January 10th, 2022 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

The Ten Greatest Rivalries in College Football

These college football rivalries have stood the test of time.


More From 107.7 WRKR-FM