Metallica celebrated the 20th anniversary of their S&M album, while simultaneously opening Northern California’s newest entertainment arena, with a performance at the Chase Center in San Francisco last night.

Dubbed S&M2, the set saw the legendary rockers once again joining forces with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra. While the pairing recreated several memorable tracks from the original S&M, they also debuted new orchestral arrangements on some of Metallica’s more recent songs.

"For Whom the Bell Tolls"

The show kicked off with the symphony performing Metallica's traditional pre-show track, Ennio Morricone's "The Ecstasy of Gold," before the band joined them for the Ride the Lightning instrumental "The Call of Ktulu." Three songs from the band's most recent album, Hardwired... to Self-Destruct made their symphonic debuts: "Confusion," "Halo on Fire" and "Moth Into Flame." So did two from 2008's Death Magnetic, including "The Unforgiven III," which featured singer James Hetfield accompanied only by the symphony.

The symphony's principle bassist, Scott Pingel, also performed a special distorted upright bass version of "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth" in tribute to Cliff Burton. "He would have loved to be here, I know he's here in spirit," Hetfield said of his departed bandmate. The band and symphony also teamed up for a cover of a classical piece, Alexander Mosolov's "Iron Foundry."

"(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth"

“Mind-blowingly awesome,” was the phrase used by Lars Ulrich when S&M2 was originally announced back in March. “The fact that San Francisco is finally getting a much needed world-class arena, the fact that Metallica get to be part of the opening celebration, the fact that we get to revisit S&M 20 years later,” were all listed among the drummer’s reasons for excitement.

Released in 1999, S&M was a daring venture for Metallica. By pairing their iconic metal sound with a classical symphony, the band risked alienating hardcore fans and casual observers alike. Instead, the LP was welcomed with commercial and critical success, selling more than 8 million copies worldwide and earning a Grammy Award.

Metallica will reprise S&M2 for a second Chase Center performance on Sunday night. Those who are unable to see symphonic live production in person will still be able to enjoy the experience via concert film. Metallica & San Francisco Symphony: S&M2 will screen in theaters around the world on Oct. 7. Participating movie theaters and ticket information can be found here.

"Iron Foundry"

Metallica and the San Francisco Symphony Set List - Sept. 6, 2019
1. "The Ecstasy of Gold" (symphony only)
2. "The Call of Ktulu" (from 1984's Ride the Lightning)
3. "For Whom the Bell Tolls" (from 1984's Ride the Lightning)
4. "The Day That Never Comes" (from 2008's Death Magnetic)
5. "The Memory Remains" (from 1997's Reload)
6. "Confusion" (from 2016's Hardwired... to Self-Destruct)
7. "Moth Into Flame" (from 2016's Hardwired... to Self-Destruct)
8. "The Outlaw Torn" (from 1996's Load)
9. "No Leaf Clover" (from 1999's S&M)
10. "Halo on Fire" (from 2016's Hardwired... to Self-Destruct)
11. "Scytian Suite, Op.20, Second Movement" (symphony only)
12. "Iron Foundry" (Alexander Mosolov cover)
13. "The Unforgiven III" (symphony with James Hetfield) (from 2008's Death Magnetic)
14. "All Within My Hands"
15. "(Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth" (from 1983's Kill 'Em All)
16. "Wherever I May Roam" (from 1991's Metallica)
17. "One" (from 1988's ...And Justice for All)
18. "Master of Puppets" (from 1986's Master of Puppets)
19. "Nothing Else Matters" (from 1991's Metallica)
20. "Enter Sandman" (from 1991's Metallica)


Metallica Albums Ranked

More From 107.7 WRKR-FM